Workin’ on my fitness

5 Aug

I’ve recently started trying out new types of workouts.  I’m trying to find what I both enjoy and what makes me “feel the burn” both during and the day after a workout.  One thing I’ve found so far,  is that music is a GREAT motivator for working out.  It’s no secret that I looooooove me some booty-licious music.  Anything with that boom-boom-boom beat made for booty shakin’ is pefect for me.  People tease and wonder what the heck makes me suddenly bust out my booty drop to the floor move, with a lot of sass thrown in, but I can’t help it!  I recently stumbled across this new Beyonce song, and it’s safe to say I’m OBSESSED.  It’s sooooo good.  And I love the video.  She is a fierce dancer.  No doubt, this will definitely be added to my workout playlist asap.

Along with running, I’ve discovered that lifting weights is another huge component to getting fit.  Now, I’m not talkin’ mucho grande 50 pound weights or some crazy business.  No, no, no.  I’m talkin’ 8-10 pounders for now.  Weight lifting helps you to burn fat, develop definitition, and helps for a huge calorie burn by speeding up your metabolism.  The more lean muscle you have, the more your metabolism goes up!   I’ve never thought of myself as someone who would lift weights, but it truly does make a huge difference!  I’ve done lots of research, and found a circuit training workout that I like a lot.  It’s a plan from Jackie Warner’s “This Is Why You’re Fat (And How to Get Thin Forever)” Yes, yes, I know the title of the book is harsh, but it’s good!  (Even though I’m slightly embarrassed to be seen carrying it anywhere. Shhhh!)

I first saw her on her show on Bravo, “Workout” and then again on Bravo on “Thintervention.”  Thintervention seemed to really hit home for me, because the show was more than just about losing weight.  She worked with a small group of people on weightloss goals thru exercise, diet, and also had them go thru group therapy sessions.  So many people have issues with food and exercise that needs to be figured out in order to move past, and she helped them to connect both their body aaaand mind to get healthy. I think she opened up the topic to a lot of people, which is so awesome. 

In her book, she talks about clean eating, 20 minute power cardio workouts, and 30 minute fat-burning exercises (resistance training).  Power circuits are all about constant motion, never slowing down during your workout.  It’s also all about alternating back and forth from upper to lower body exercises.  It’s great, because you’re never doing one thing for too long, always moving on to the next.  I already realized I need to get heavier weights, so it’s more resistance for me.  Wooohooo!  The key is to alternate weight training with cardio every other day, which I also enjoy.  Apparantly I don’t like doing the same thing day after day after day??  Who knew?? 

The other thing I’ve realized, is I have to go at my own pace and do what feels right for me.  I won’t become a super buff chica overnight, but I can do what works and what makes a difference for me.  Hopefully I’ll be sharing my amazingness of results sometime in the future. 🙂

{print from luciusart.etsy.com}

 

4 Responses to “Workin’ on my fitness”

  1. thislittlelark August 5, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    Sounds like you have great motivation! Keep it up 🙂 You’re right… the title of that book is harsh- I can understand why it’d be awkward walking around with it! Hehe. I’m interested to take a look at it though. Best of luck on your exercise goals!

    • Carisa @HappyHealthyEating August 5, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

      Thanks so much for the well wishes! I’m hoping this blog will help me keep myself motivated by putting it all out there. And it really is a great book! Very straight to the point, which I like! 🙂

  2. Carly August 27, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    I’ve been reading the Eat Clean Diet Recharged by Tosca Reno. It’s hard work eating clean but really makes a difference in my energy, skin, etc…. I’ll have to check out Jackie Warner’s book now too, thanks for the suggestion!

  3. Carisa @HappyHealthyEating August 29, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    Carly, I’ve looked at some of Tosca Reno’s books and she has tons of great info. I’m on my way to try to eat as clean as possible, because like you, I DEFINTELY notice a difference when I do!

Leave a Reply

