Gotta work it out

12 Oct

I joined a new gym!  Woohoo!  The biggest thing that got me to join at this particular gym, was all the super awesome classes included in the monthly gym membership.  It’s also helpful that it’s right down the street from where I work.  Classes like TRX, Whipped, Pilates, Yoga, Cycling and ABSolute Strength.  I just got in for my first visit last night and stuck to the treadmill.  It’s been wayyyy too long since I’ve gone running and it felt great!  I forgot how much I love that exercise high after I’m all done.  Love it!!  Keep that bumpin’ music going!! 

After my run on the treadmill, I decided to watch a bit of the Whipped class in one of the studios.  To be completely honest, it looks REALLY tough.  Really.  These people looked like some serious athletes in that room.  And the instructor…let’s just say she looked like she could kick my booty, even though she was about a foot shorter than me! Thighs of steel!  Whipped is a class specific to my gym and is described as:

Whipped! is all about “old school” rope training combined with intervals such as jumpbacks, planks, squats, running, and more. The rope training includes literally whipping heavy ropes up and down using your entire body with your arms and shoulders especially getting a major workout.  Sending ripples down a thick rope seems like a simple motion — until you do it as fast as you can repeatedly. To keep it up, you need to squat, tighten your core and muster whatever power you can find in your arms and back.Other equipment used during the class includes stability balls, kettlebells, and steps.  The class is designed to “elicit high anaerobic intensity in quick bursts (30 seconds of exercise followed by 30 seconds of rest) using endurance-sparking moves.”

kinda weird pic, but it shows the ropes!

I’m thinking this class is EXACTLY what I need to get into wedding shape for next summer 🙂  I might leave crying from exhaustion…or from the feeling of pure wimpiness in the presence of super athletes.  We’ll just have to see.  I’m hoping I just make it thru!  It isn’t offered again during my workout schedule until next week, but I think I’m gonna jump right in.

2 Responses to “Gotta work it out”

  1. Mel October 27, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Can you bring a friend? I’d love to try this “whipped” class:)

Leave a Reply

