Group fitness classes? I’m in!

13 Dec

Wow, I’ve waited WAY too long to post anything for a while!  I’ve got some catching up to do! 

So, I’ve gotten a bit more adventurous in my time at the gym this past month.  I’ve moved away from just using the treadmill and a few free weights (BORING!)…into the land of group fitness classes! OOooOoohhhh! 🙂 

I’ve always been super intimidated by group classes.  I feared:

  • I wouldn’t be able to keep up with the rest of the class
  • I would make a fool of myself, because I had no idea what I was doing
  • I would get too tired to participate for the duration of the class
  • I don’t have the right workout gear (cycling shoes, padded bike shorts, etc)
  • I wouldn’t be strong enough to lift the weights for the whole class
  • My face would turn BRIGHT red from my workout “glow”
  • And the worst fear I ever had, would be that I would just straight up pass out! Eeeeek!

Luckily, my first real group fitness class was taught by the nicest, sweetest woman named Ginger and she played bumpin’ music to boot!  It was a 30 minute spin class.  Now, spin classes are usually 60 minutes long, but this 30 minute class was quite enough for me as a first-timer, lemme tell ya.  Woooooh doggy! It started off with such a great beginning, when Ginger first saw me walk in, she noticed right away that I had never been to one of her classes before.  She made a point of introducing herself, asking my name, and welcoming me.  Major bonus points for calming my nerves a bit on first meet.  She then went on to help me get all set up on my bike, adjusting the seat, the handlebars, and even giving me a padded seat cover.  The seat covers are for all the newbies who don’t wear the dorky padded bike shorts.  And I am SO glad she gave me that seat cover.  Yowsa!  When class started she introduced me to the whole class and even checked on me throughout the class to see how I was doing.  She was encouraging, made funny small talk during class, played some super upbeat dance music like David Guetta (which I immediately added to my running playlist when I got home), and made the time go by super quick.  I made it back for another visit to the same class a few weeks later…and she remembered my name!  Love it!  Now, that is what I call, first-class teaching!

One Response to “Group fitness classes? I’m in!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spin, spin, spin. | This Time For Real - February 16, 2012

    […] Group fitness classes? I’m in! (happyhealthyeating.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

