2012…time to get going!

19 Jan

January is for the start of a fresh healthy new year, but it took a bit to get back into the swing of things…

I was out of the gym for about a month, from mid-December to mid-January.  Not cool.  I injured myself at the gym in the middle of December by straining muscles around my ribs…while stretching!!!  What!?! Who does that??  Ugh.   Such a dork.  It hurt to move for days. No bueno.  I was really starting to get into my new workout routine and fun classes, and then WAM!  No gym for me.  Soooooo, time for healing my injury lead into my vacation for Christmas and New Years, and then a week in Portland for work.  All adding up to a month off from the gym.  I realized I really missed how I had started to feel back in December from taking my new classes.  I was feeling stronger and healthier, and then it was gone.  Poof!  I  topped it off with eating sweets and decadent food at the holidays and a few (many maybe??) celebratory cocktails, hey it was the holidays. 

Cut to last week, my first week back at the office in almost three weeks.  Finally got my booty back into the gym, and it felt DAMN good!  Ooooh boy!  Loved to be back at the gym! I missed that adrenaline!   After a week back at the gym, I decided I was ready to get back into my class routine and headed to 6am ABSolute Strength class this Monday. 

ABSolute Strength

High repetition, high-intensity endurance oriented strength training designed to train the core, legs & upper body. Highly effective abdominal training exercises and compound muscle movements for a lean look, incredible posture and a great sense of physical and mental strength.

The class works biceps, triceps, abs, core, quads, glutes, and I was squatting and lunging my little booty away with weights on my shoulders.  It was a great way to start off my week.  I was feeling strong, getting thru all the reps, feeling the burn. The teacher plays great upbeat music and is super helpful to everyone during the class.   She even called me out in class to say I had beautiful form!  BONUS!  🙂  I got a good stretch after class and then went to make my way down the stairs to the locker room.  Now, let me tell you something…whoever decided the womens locker room should be THREE flights down from the main workout area, must have been some type of crazy torturer.  I mean, THREE??  Come on!!  I took my first step down and nearly collapsed in the stairwell.  My legs were jello from all those lunges and squats!  I had to hold onto the railing for dear life as I very slowly creeped down the three flights of stairs, hoping nobody had to rush past me and laugh at my weak little legs. I even laughed at loud at myself!  But I kept thinking…if this is what it takes to be just thiiiiiiis much closer to getting sexy thighs like Halle Berry and rock some cutoffs, I’ll take the pain.

Let’s DO this 2012!!!

One Response to “2012…time to get going!”

  1. Jenny January 19, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    I would also like to proclaim a goal of Halle Berry thighs in 2012.

Leave a Reply

